Calgary Herald

18 Nov 1930




For a thoroughly enjoyable evening of dancing and cards the Amalgamated Civil Servants of Canada and their friends foregathered last evening in Penley's Academy, under the capable convenership of Mr. A. Morrice. Bridge and whist was arranged, and an excellent orchestra provided music for the entertainment of the guests.
The fortunate winners at cards were as follows:
Bridge-- Mrs. H. A. White, Mrs. Plotkine, Mrs. C. F. Quinn, Mr. Maloney; whist-- Miss B. McDonald, Mrs. E. L. Napper, Mr. C. Lepla, Mr. A. Gourley.
More than 200 guests were present, including:
Lucy L. Burroughs, Lillian Stewart, Eric Lowick,  Jack Porter, Evelyn Stewart, Nan Fraser, Alex Henderson, Basil McDonald, J. Halsall, T. Davies, A. Evans.
Miss Marguerite Doyle, Mrs. J. Doyle, Mrs. Mis. Johnson, Mrs. Agnes Goodman, A. Morrice, J. Spiller, A. C. Alford, Miss Ivy Shelden, Harry Mills, Miss M. Clarke, Miss D. White, Miss H.  Williams, C. W. Langford, Miss Alice Quigley.
Mary White, James Dalgetty, Jae Cawthorn, Mr. and Mrs. P. F. Wadams, Mrs. Halsall, Mr. and Mrs. T. B. Donald, Mr. and Mrs. Mead, Mr. and Mrs. Ed . Mead, Miss A. Mitchell-Innes (Toronto),  Mr. G. Mitchell-Innes (Winnipeg), Mr. and Mrs. H. Seater (Hanna), D. C. Cumbers (Halifax), Mrs. Norman Orr (Saskatoon), Doris Huggins (Regina).
Mr. C. H. Wiber (Detroit), Ellen Bell (Saskatoon), Audrey McManers (Montreal), J. L. Patterson (Chicago), Anne Buchan (Edinburgh, Scotland), Kenneth L. Empey (Winnipeg).
J. W. C. Bond, C. W. O'Brian, Sam Bell, Miss Doris E. Miles, Miss Winnie Miles, Mr. and Mrs. T. R. Ramsay, H. Stapleton, Mr. and Mrs. J. Miles, L. M. Bremner, Norah M. Welch, Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Chirstian.
Miss Maude Bannister, Miss Rena McCraw, Miss Tempest, Mr. and Mrs. D. E. Redden, Mr. and Mrs. P. J. Hughes, Mr. L. G. McCarthy, Miss McVitty, Mr. R. Dutton, Miss M. Child.
Mr. and Mrs. C. Rennick, Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Carpenter, D. Watson, F. Freeman, V. Marshall, G. Pashak, Sydney Smith (Gleichen), Elsie Smith (New York), Mr. A. Dingley, Mr. and Mrs. Slater.
Charles E. A. Napper, Peggy Gourlay, Irene Carrington, Mr. A. Gourlay, Mr. R. Napper, Miss Agnes Cromie, Graham Anderson, Miss T. Frechette, Mr. B. C. de Jones, Miss Marion Maxie, T. C. MacLaughlin, Mr. and Mrs. N. M. Callaway, L. Partridge, Mrs. and Mrs. H. Symons, J. S. Twiny, Mrs. A. Andrews.
Mrs. White, Mr. T. J. Maloney, Mr. and Mrs. Clancy, N. Tough, Rose Andrews, Lillian Tassnidge, Mrs. Florrie Lepla, Chas. Lyslie, Mrs. K. A. White, Mrs. L. Plotkins, Mrs. C. F. Quinn, Miss V. White, T. J. Moloney.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2010-07-08