Calgary Herald

1948-02-5 Page 24

Miss K. Morton Elected President of Nursing Group

Miss Katherine Morton was elected president 
of the Calgary Nursing Sisters' Association at the annual meeting held recently in the Legion hall. Mrs. S. S. Nelson, retiring president, gave her report and Miss E. M. Perkins submitted the secretary-treasurer's statement.
The slate for 1948 
includes: President, Miss Morton; vice-president, Mrs. Douglas Florendine; secretary-treasurer, Miss E. M. Perkins; assistant secretary-treasurer, Miss Mary Arnott; sick visitor, Mrs. M. Harries; telephone convener, Miss L. Lane, and press, Miss Ruth Watts.
THE INCOMING EXECUTIVE decided to continue the policy of sending food parcels to British hospitals and to the Dominion Rehabilitation Fund to aid nurses and nursing services in devastated areas.
Miss E. Hoskyn and Miss S. McRae were elected to the executive in an advisory capacity.
MRS. C. H. IRONSIDE presented the retiring president with a bouquet of spring flowers in appreciation of her services.
Tea was served by Mrs. Ironside, Mrs. D. F. Rogers and Mrs. E. C. Higginbotham with Miss Morton presiding at the tea urn.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2015-10-06