Calgary Herald

1948-04-08 Page 6

Mrs. George Metcalfe Heads Missionary Society

The Alberta Synodical Women’s Missionary Society of the Presbyterian Church in Canada at a meeting Wednesday in Grace Church elected Mrs. George Metcalfe as president. She succeeds Mrs. R. H. MacMicking of Edmonton, who presided at the two-day rally which opened Tuesday.
Mrs. F. McRae of Edmonton submitted the treasurer's report and stated that the allocation had been exceeded with more than $5,000 raised. Mrs. F. S. Morley welcomed more than 70 delegates who came from all points in the province.
MRS. C. E. JAMIESON read the report of the supply secretary, Mrs. A. B. McGorman of Penhold, which said the allocation of the department of the synodical branch had been met. The funds spent on Indians' homes was $236 and the same amount will be the objective for this year. Quilts were provided for air camps at Sylvan Lake and at present the W.M.S. is making 50 quilts for these camps. Gifts, layettes and miscellaneous articles were supplied to the Northern Alberta mission fields.
Rev. Dr. F. S. Morley spoke at the conclusion of the rally and Mrs. W. B. McIntosh of Lloydminster, former deaconess of the Presbyterian Church, was guest speaker in the afternoon.
Members of the Ladies' Aid served dinner Tuesday in the Grace Church parlors to delegates when Rev. Dr. K. D. Toth and Mrs. Toth gave addresses.
SECRETARIES' reports were submitted and a discussion period was led by Miss A. Read, deaconess on "Our Weaknesses and How to Overcome Them."
Mrs. R. J. Edgar was chairman of the nominating committee and presented the following slate of officers for the season: Honorary president, Mrs. D. G. McQueen, Edmonton; honorary vice-president, Mrs. A. S. Grey, Lethbridge; president, Mrs. Metcalfe; vice-presidents, Mrs. R. H. MacMicking, Edmonton, Mrs. C. E. Bray, Red Deer, and Mrs. R. McRae, Edmonton; recording secretary, Mrs. C. E. Jamieson; corresponding secretary, Miss Marion McKay; treasurer, Mrs. J. H. Jamieson; evening department secretary, Mrs. J. G. Moors; young women's secretary, Miss Constance Muldoon, Edmonton; and girls' organization secretary, Mrs. E. J. Olsen.
SECRETARIES for the new season include: Children's, Mrs. M. S. Blackburn, Banff; home helpers, Mrs. G. G. Elder, Medicine Hat; library and exchange, Mrs. E. L. Gardin, Lethbridge; literature and glad tidings, Mrs. A. Barrell; welcome and welfare, Mrs. W. G. Kirkpatrick, Red Deer; student, Miss Edna Thompson, Edmonton; supply, Mrs. J. A. Dunn, Edmonton; life membership, Mrs. H. M. McLagan; lantern slides, Mrs. W. H. Carmichael; press, Mrs. A. A. MacGregor, Edmonton; historian, Mrs. D. G. McQueen, Edmonton; membership without portfolio, Mrs. R. S. Gibson.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2015-10-30