Calgary Herald

1948-01-19 Page 3

Jewels Given I.O.O.F. Members 

Jewels, for 25 or more years of service were presented to 20 members of the Alberta Lodge, No. 1, I.O.O.F., when the chapter observed its 63rd anniversary Friday night in the Oddfellows Temple here.
Receiving the awards were: J. S. Bicknell, Randolph Bloomfield, H. C. Butler, S. E. Dafoe, F. W. Deeves, J. H. Exton, John Harrison, H. L. Hayes, G. C. Lancaster, A. E. MacDonald, C. W. McGa?, Alex Montgomery, H. J. Flaydon, M. F. Pringle, R. M. Stabback, A. W. Sheffield, H. P. W. Thorne and J. H. Whitfield, all of Calgary, J. E. Beckett, Edmonton, and D. D. Holmes, Red Deer. O. W. Clarke of Calgary and W. S. Taylor of Saskatoon also awarded the jewels, were unable to attend the banquet.
THE EARLY HISTORY of the lodge was outlined by G. W. Henderson, past grand master, grand treasurer, and a member of the organization for 52 years.
Representatives of the Grand Lodge of Alberta, the Grand Encampment and the Rebekah Assembly extended greetings and best wishes on behalf of their respective groups.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2015-08-28