Calgary Herald

1948-03-29 Page 8

Nanton Curlers Name Officers 

(By Herald Correspondent)
NANTON, March 29-- Tron Berger was elected president of the curling club at the annual meeting, when other officers elected were: Gordon Caspell, first vice-president; J. C. Hiebert, second vice-president; H. Dean, secretary-treasurer. The treasurer's report showed that the club had a surplus of over $300 on hand. 
Mayor M. W. McKenzie presented the prizes to: Cooper shield, Charles Morrison's rink; Shaw cup, Ed McLean's rink; Bank of Commerce cup, E. Lockton's rink; Hallett cup, H. Armstrong's rink. 
A suggestion was made that the surplus be spent on improving the curling rink. Another suggestion was made that a rink composed of school boys be coached during the early part of next season so they could enter the Taylor Pearson and Carson competition for the Dominion championships.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2015-10-30