Calgary Herald

1948-04-23 Page 10

Railway Lodge Pins Presented 

Forty years service in the Sandstone City Lodge 635, Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Engineers, was honored Wednesday evening at an honorary banquet of the lodge and the Ladies' Society, Sunny Alberta Lodge, 205, when nine firemen and engineers were presented with pins in recognition of a life-time with the C.P.R.
Receiving pins from A. J. Burnap, of Lethbridge, general organizer of the B.L.F.E. for western Canada, were: William Groves and W. H. Hartley, Edmonton, J. P. James, E. A. Deitz, Arthur Suhr, Clayton Willson, Jim McLean, R. M. Piper, and J. E. Worsley, who celebrated his 81st birthday recently.
MRS. CLAYTON Willson was presented with a 25-year button by Mrs. E. D. Martell, president of Lodge 205, for her service with the ladies' branch of the brotherhood.
George Ellinson, president of the lodge, and chairman of the banquet, presented honorary life memberships in the Brotherhood to the following: G. E. Baxter, Joseph Bricker, J. T. Bull, William Crowe, Tim Hutt, Jim Davidson, H. V. Harlow, W. E. Godard, R. M. Piper, Guy Johnson, Edward Taylor, W. G. Taylor, John Main, F. G. Murdoch, Duncan McEwen, Niven McLauchlin, Archie McLaw, Jim McLean, James E. Worsley, George Yeats, and William A. Groves.
Thomas Wood, superintendent of the Calgary region of the C.P.R., and Mr. Burnap, were guest speakers. Mary Diver sang several solos.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2015-11-07