Calgary Herald

1953-03-02 Page 26


Teachers' Group Names Officers

Lars Olson of Holden, Alberta, and Robert A. Kimmitt of Coalhurst, have been nominated for presidency of the Alberta Teachers' Association, Eric C. Ansley, secretary-treasurer of the association, announced today.
The successful candidate will succeed Marian Gimby of Edmonton, 
president for the past two years.
FRANK EDWARDS of Edmonton has been elected vice-president by acclamation.
elected by acclamation were six district representatives to the provincial executive council: Mrs. Inez Castelton, Calgary and district; G. S. Lakie, Lethbridge, for Southwestern Alberta; Dorothy Benjamin, Hanna, for Southeastern Alberta; W. D. McGrath, Peace River, for Northwestern Alberta;Kenneth W. Sparks, Sedgewick, for Central Eastern Alberta, and D. A. Prescott, Red Deer, for Central Western Alberta.
TWO ELECTIONS for position on executive council will be held. H. J. McKim Ross and William E. Kostash will contest the seat in Edmonton and district and Nicholas Poohkay of Hairy Hill and Michael Skuba of Smoky Lake contest the 
Northeastern Alberta seat. 
Election ballots will be mailed this week and will be received at Barnett House, 103rd St., Edmonton, until April 8. The winners will be announced during the annual general meeting which will be held at the Macdonald hotel in Edmonton during Easter week.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-09-25