Calgary Herald

1953-09-03 - Page 27


Theatre Group Names Officers

A. W. Shackleford of Lethbridge was elected president of the Alberta Theatre Association during the annual meeting held in Banff last weekend. 
The four vice-presidents named during the meeting were W. P. Wilson, B. Wiber of Edmonton, D. Miller and D. C. Fox of Pincher Creek.
ROY CHOWN of Calgary was again named secretary treasurer and Don Menzies assistant secretary.
The meeting was held in the Banff Springs hotel which afforded the exhibitors from all over the province to meet stars and directors of two films being filmed in the area.
The new board of directors of the association is Miss M. H.  Playle of Drumheller; D. A. Boyle of Macleod; E. T. Lewis of High River; Lee Brewerton of Raymond; F. Christoux of Banff; William Ramsay of Canmore; L. G. Purnell of Red Deer; J. J. Lieberman, A. E. Staniland, C. Entwistle, William Pilkie, Jr., all ofEdmonton; R. M. Alitcheltree, Richard Barron, Matt Park and Harry Cohen all of Calgary.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-12-23