Calgary Herald

1953-01-16 Page 18



St. John Group Names Executive

(By Herald Correspondent)
FERNIE, B.C.-- Carmichael McNay was elected president of the Fernie Centre St. John Ambulance Association at its annual meeting Sunday. Other officers elected are as follows: Horace Perkins, vice-president; Joseph J. Haile, secretary-treasurer; honorary president, T. G. Ewart; honorary vice-presidents, H. T. Cox, K. N. Stewart, G. E. Elkington, T. H. Wilson, and Tom Uphill.
The executive will consist of Robert Hartley, Alex Taylor, Joe Smolik, Isaac Haile, David Brown, Leonard Brett, John Adamski, Bill Wiens and Mrs. William McLennan. The auditors are Isaac Haile and Horace Perkins.
THE PRINCIPAL work conducted by the association in 1952 was the training of first aid teams for the East Kootenay Mine Safety association's annual first aid competitions, and assisting in the canvas for volunteer blood donors for the Red Cross Blood Donor clinic.
Objectives for 1953 include the conducting of first aid classes, commencing in March, render all possible assistance for training of first aiders for civil defence training of competitive first aid teams, and the encouragement of beginners in first aid.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-08-22