Calgary Herald

1953-01-29 Page 25



Railway Union Names Officers 

A committee for the year 1953 was elected to office at the annual meeting of delegates from 17 railway non-running trades unions in the Labor Temple Wednesday evening.
Returned to office as president was J. D. McLuckie, while E. H. Corbett was re-elected secretary-treasurer. J. P. Spencer of the Brotherhood of Express Employees (C.P.R.) was elected to succeed T. J. Sutcliffe as vice-chairman. J. W. Murray of the Canadian Brotherhood of Railway Employees (C.N.R.) was elected publicity agent.
Supporting the committee are members of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers; Local 632, Steamship Clerks; Local 1384, Steamship Clerks; Blacksmiths, Drop Forgers and Helpers; Boilermakers; Moulders and Foundry Workers; Machinists; Journeymen and Plumbers; the Railway Carmen of Kitchener and Ladysmith; Maintenance of Way, C.N.R. and C.P.R.; Express Employees, C.P.R.;  Commercial Telegraphers Union; Local 47 and Local 169, Canadian Brotherhood of Railway Employees; and the Brotherhood of Firemen and Oilers.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-09-06