Calgary Herald

1953-05-12 Page 15


Forestry Group Elects Officers

Dr. V. J. Nordin, Calgary, of the division of forest pathology, department of agriculture, was elected chairman of the Rocky Mountain section, Canadian Institute of Forestry, at the institute's annual meeting held recently in Red Deer.
Retiring chairman is Victor Heath, Edmonton, of the Alberta Forest Service.
OTHER OFFICERS elected were: vice-chairman, J. L. Jansen, Edmonton, chief timber inspector, Alberta Forest Service; secretary-treasurer, Dr. W. C. McGuffin, Calgary, Division of Forest Entomology, department of agriculture; and section representative, Mr. Heath.
Councillors are: R. D. Loomis, Edmonton, Alberta Forest Survey Branch, Alberta Forest Service; Arden Rytz, Edmonton, forester for the Imperial Lumber Company; S. R. Hughes, Calgary, assistant superintendent, Bow River Forest Reserve; and J. D. Champion, Athabasca, timber inspector, Athabasca district.
Plans for the fall field meeting were discussed tentatively, and members discussed a suggestion that a combined meeting be held with the newly-formed B.C. Caribou section.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-10-19