Calgary Herald

1953-05-30 Page 7



Sorority Chapter Elects Executive At Final Meeting

Omicron chapter of Beta Sigma Phi sorority recently concluded its activities until the fall with a pot-luck supper party at the home of Mrs. Ralph Will. The following officers for the 1953-54 season were installed:
President, Mrs. Murray Cardno; first vice-president, Miss Jean Trowsdale; second vice-president, Miss Muriel Garvin; correspondingsecretary, Miss Joan Hall; recording secretary, Mrs. Douglas Short; treasurer, Mrs. Dan Wood; and city council representative,  Mrs. Harry Young.
The Beta Sigma Phi annual Black and Gold Ball will be held June 5 at the Al-San Club.
The rushing program began in October with a "Gay Nineties" party at the home of social sponsor, Mrs. Will. A coffee party for the "rushees" was held a week later at the home of Miss Trowsdale. The preferential tea was held at the home of Omicron director, Mrs. Walter Johns.
In November, the fall banquet was held at the Palliser hotel, at which Omicron pledged four new members, Mrs. H. A. Raymond, Mrs. Clair Rooney, Mrs. Douglas Short and Mrs. A. J. Bartlett. In December the annual Christmas dinner was held at the home of Mrs. Will. Omicron chapter also joined Delta chapter for a Christmas dance and buffet supper at the "400 Club." Omicron held a party for the Little Sisters Association, where games, prizes and refreshments were included. A Christmas hamper was donated to a needy family.
Omicron chapter took an active part in the Beta Sigma Phi fashion show in March, and four members from this chapter were models in the show: Mrs. V. W. Brown, Mrs. Young, Miss Hall and Mrs. Cardno. A successful rummage sale was held at the Elks hall in April.
The Founder's Day banquet was held at the Palliser hotel, April 30, when Omicron pledges joined those of other Calgary chapters for their final decree into Beta Sigma Phi. Omicron chapter members served tea at the Coste House at a musicale in May. Those serving were: Miss Trowsdale, Mrs. V. W. Brown, Mrs. Cardno, Mrs. Will, Miss Hall, Miss Garvin, and Mrs. Raymond.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-11-06