Calgary Herald

1953-05-22 Page 16


Lions Elect 5 Directors 

Calgary Lions club Wednesday elected five directors to complete its slate of officers for the new season.
Francis F
ry, Ted Brawn, Vince Briggs, and Ron Miller were elected to serve two-year terms, while Lorne Mitchell will serve for one year to complete the term of Bruce Leyden, who has been elected to the executive.
THE COMPLETE SLATE of officers will be installed June 24 at a ladies' night in the Palliser hotel.
The club also elected nine delegates to attend the regional convention of Lions International to be held June 3-6 in Edmonton.
Official delegates will be Lou Taverner, R. D. Webb, E. B. Allan, M. A. Shortt, J. G. Leitch, Cliff Irwin, F. T. Edwards, S. A. Adams, and Bruce Leyden, in addition to Dick Hurst, incoming president, P. C. Naismith, out-going president, and A. E. Beamer, secretary.
The club will hold a reception June 2 in the 
Royal hotel for out-of-town Lions en route to the convention in Edmonton. About 500 Lions from Alberta and Manitoba are expected to attend the convention.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-11-01