Calgary Herald

1953-11-28 Page 8



Mrs. G. Robinson Heads Alberta's Women Pioneers 

Mrs. G. C. Robinson of Calgary was elected president of the women's section, Southern Alberta Pioneers' and Old Timers' Association at the annual meeting in the Palliser hotel held recently. She succeeds Mrs. W. Mathieson.
Others elected include: Vice-presidents, Mrs. David White, Banff, Mrs. G. H. Ross and Mrs. Joseph Hogge, Okotoks; secretary, Mrs. W. V. Dixon; treasurer, Mrs. J. A. Cotton; pioneer daughter, Mrs. F. C. Vaughan-Birch, High River.
Named on the city executive were Mrs. E. B. Nowers, Mrs. T. Cronie, Mrs. John Barber, Mrs. O. D. Wright, Mrs. A. J. Currie, Mrs. Leslie Douglas, Mrs. J. W. Richardson, Mrs. J. C. Cameron, Mrs. Talbot Hollies and Miss Mary Morrison.
Representing country points on the executive will be Mrs. David McDougall, Mrs. Angus McDonald, Cochrane; Mrs. I. Jones and Mrs. R. M. LeBerge, De Winton; Mrs. W. B. Campbell and Mrs. Donald McKinnon, Carseland; Mrs. Peter Wilson, Black Diamond; Mrs. C. Collwell, Dalemead; Mrs. H. Sinclair-Smith, Millarville; and Mrs. E. L. Gordon, Stavely.
Mrs. Leslie Douglas was appointed convener of the sick and visiting committee which includes Mrs. R. M. LeBerge, De Winton, and Mrs. A. J. Currie.


Extracted by J. Kynman 2015-01-25