Calgary Herald

1953-10-27 Page 12


Local Scout Head Awarded Medal 

F. S. Fry of Calgary, provincial commissioner for Boy Scouts was among the 14 members of the Canadian Boy Scouts Association to receive Coronation Medals it was announced by Deputy Chief Scout Jackson Dodds C.B.E., at the 103rd executive committee meeting of Canadian General Council, in Regina Friday.
Ten provincial commissioners who received the awards were: T. W. S. Parsons, O.B.E., Victoria; W. E. Hardiman, Winnipeg; G. Robley Mackay, Montreal; R. A. MacGregor, New Glasgow, N.S.; E. B. Foran, St. John's, Nfld.; E. H. M. Knowles, Q.C., Regina; W. H. J. Tisdale, Bronte, Ont.; El Boyaner, New Brunswick; F. A. Driscoll, P.E.I.; F. S. Fry, Calgary Alta.
OTHERS WERE: Lt. Col. T. H. Mundy, Toronto, of the Salvation Army; Frank C. Irwin, Provincial Executive Commissioner, Toronto; Gerald Corbeil of La Federation des Catholiques de la Province de Quebec, Montreal and J. Barry Cole, leader of the Scout contingent to the Coronation last June.
Another medal winner is J. W. Anderson of Calgary, who has served as councillor for the Beddington and Conrich municipalities for 24 years. 
Mr. Anderson has served on the board of directors of the Wheatlands school division No. 40 since its organization 15 years ago and is chairman of the board at the pre
sent time.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2015-01-06