Calgary Herald

1953-06-03 Page 28



New Executive Is Elected By Sorority Group 

Officers for the coming year were elected at a recent meeting of Xi-Beta chapter of Beta Sigma Phi Sorority at the Coste House. Elected were: president, Mrs. E. J. Fisher; vice-president, Mrs. L. K. Brooks; recording secretary, Miss Pat Nolls; corresponding secretary, Mrs. Robert Sanders; and treasurer, Mrs. R. W. Mason.

MRS. FRANK MOORE, retiring president, conducted the business meeting and thanked her executive for their work during the year. Reports were given by the treasurer, Miss Ruth McWilliams, and the following committee chairmen: social, Mrs. A. R. Cox and Mrs. William Braund; program, Mrs. E. J. Fisher; and ways and means, Miss Faye Stevens.
Mrs. F. Moore was presented with a corsage and the past president exemplar gavel. Following the meeting, the initiation ritual was conduced by Mrs. D. C. Chidlow, who also presided at the first exemplar ritual held in Calgary when Miss Edith Jackson and Mrs. W. R. Cole were accepted into the Xi-Beta chapter.
MRS. A. EGGLESTON, Miss Emma Befus, Mrs. W. S. Denoon, Mrs. F. F. Gentry, Miss Lillian Melhuish, Mrs. Erskine Williams, Mrs. D. I. Cunningham, Miss Mary Longmore, Miss Jean Nettleton, Mrs. J. Scott and Mrs. B. B. Burnand were accepted into membership of the newly-formed Xi-Beta chapter.
Mrs. Fisher presented a leather minute and record book to Miss Doreen Blair, president pro-tem of the new chapter.
A tea in honor of the new members was served in the conservatory of Coste House. Special guests were Mrs. William Ireland, city social sponsor of the Beta Sigma Phi and members of Xi-Zeta chapter.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-11-06