Calgary Herald

1953-01-26 - Page 6


Liberal Women Of Alberta Elect New President

RED DEER-- Mrs. O. T. Dean, past president of the Calgary Liberal Women's Association, Saturday was selected president of the Alberta Liberal Women's Association as the two-day convention came to a close Saturday morning in the Buffalo hotel. She succeeds selected Mrs. K. G. Montgomery of Edmonton.
Election of officers, a panel discussion and a meeting of the new executive occupied the second day of the convention that attracted women from as far north as Fairview and as far south as Lethbridge.
THE FOUR vice-presidents are Mrs. J. J.Clooney of Edmonton, Mrs. Art Hunter of Innisfree, Mrs. A. G. Virtue of Lethbridge and Mrs. K. N. Ferrie of Fairview. The corresponding secretary is Mrs. G. C. Hiett of Calgary with Mrs. W. H. Ross, also of Calgary, treasurer. 
Named reporting secretary was Mrs. D. H. Finley of Jasper. Committee heads are as follows: finance, Mrs. R. L. Nicolson, Calgary; organization, Mrs. Ferrie of Fairview, for the north with one for the south to be named later; constitution, Mrs. J. P. Ferguson, Trochu; status of women, Mrs. Cora Casselman, Edmonton; education, Miss Norma Garrison, Vegreville; social, Mrs. W. Phillion, Edmonton, and Mrs. W. B. Cromarty, Calgary; publicity, Miss Una MacLean; nominations, Mrs. N. Demann, Medicine Hat.
Added feature Saturday morning, put on by the Edmonton Women's Liberal Association, was a panel discussion entitled "The Federal Background of Alberta's Prosperity." Taking part were Mrs. Casselman, Mrs. Morris Griggs, Mrs. Paul Ragan, Mrs. Alizon Lamb and Mrs. J. F. Conroy.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-08-31