Calgary Herald

1953-11-02 Page 12


Calgary Men Elected To Air Cadet Executive 

EDMONTON (CP)-- Wallace H. Collie of Edmonton was re-elected chairman of the 
Alberta branch of the Air Cadet League of Canada at the annual dinner Saturday.
CHOSEN REGIONAL vice-chairmen were William Ross of Calgary for the south and R. M. Maze of Edmonton for the north.
Named national directors were Mr. Collie; Gordon K. Wynn, Edmonton; H. F. Francis, Calgary; and C. C. Crookes, High River.
Gerald K. Shook of 
Edmonton was presented with the Banker Bates trophy 
as the outstanding air cadet in Canada last year.
Calgarians elected to the executive committee were Ron Jenkins, H. S. Timmins, M. L. Brown, Jack Sorsoleil, Clifton C. Cross, Phil Heather, Peter Aumonier, J. Breden and Arthur Smith.
E. F. McFarland of Lethbridge
 also was named
 to the executive committee.
SGT. G. C. YOUNG of High River described his exchange visit to the United Kingdom this summer and W. O. Ralph Maier of Taber told of his experiences as a member of the winning team at the international drill competition in Toronto.
Presentations included: the Air Cadet 
Challenge Trophy to F/O. R. H. Shears, Lamont; the Dominion Cadet Rifle Association Trophy to F/O. Shears; the Guthrie Provincial Shield to F/O. Squire, High River; the Alberta Trophy to B. Williams, Taber; the Provincial Plaque to Flt.-Lt. R. Pierce, Brooks; and a Provincial Plaque to J. McLean, Athabasca.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-01-11