Calgary Herald

1953-01-26 Page 13


Legion Elects Harold Smith 

Harold Smith, for three years first vice-president of No. 1 branch of the Canadian Legion, was elected president at the annual meeting Sunday.
R. W. Henderson, president of No. 1 branch for the past nine years, did not seek re-election owing to ill health.
G. W. REED was elected to succeed Mr. Smith as first vice-president, and J. T. Rae was elected second vice-president.
The twelve members elected to the executive are: Walter Ballard, Miss H. C. Kozicky, Joseph Allen, Mrs. G. G. McFadyen, R. T. Alderman, Robert Stephen, W. C. Dexter, Duncan McLellan, William Morrison, Norman Arnold, Andrew Fulton and A. A. Allison.
In Edmonton, the Montgomery branch of the Legion elected Thomas Davies as its president to succeed Sidney Bowcott who had served for two years.

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-08-31