Calgary Herald

1953-10-08 Page 8


Students Name New Officers 

(By Herald Correspondent)
CANMORE-- At a recent meeting of the Canmore High School Students Union, the following officers were elected: president, Norman Haimila; honorary president, John Bentham, R. C. M.P.; vice-president, Patricia Fletcher; secretary, Jo Anne Dutka; treasurer, Sylvia Latvala; Editor, June Podetz; Students Guide, Dorothy Opruk; Staff Representative, R. Ellehill.
WINNERS of scholarships were announced, and are as follows:
The I.O.D.E and the Canmore Hotel awards went to Donna King as the best all round graduating student.
Jo Anne Dutka was the recipient of four scholarships: The Sport Shop award for the best student of the French language; highest in Mathematics, given by the Rundle Mt. Trading Co.; highest in Social Studies, donated by the Cardo Marra store; and a prize given by an anonymous donor for the highest marks in English.
The Science award presented by Buckleys Drug Store was won by Sylvia Latvala

Extracted by J. Kynman 2014-12-23